### APPLICATION FORM FOR THE 'PLANT GENOME SAVIOR FARMER REWARD/ RECOGNITION'

**Annexure-I** 

## Protection of Plant Varieties & Farmers' Rights Authority NASC Complex, DPS Marg, Opp. Todapur Village New Delhi 110 012

APPLICATION FORM FOR PLANT GENOME SAVIOUR FARMER REWARD/ RECOGNITION FOR A FARMER WHO IS ENGAGED IN CONSERVATION OF GENETIC RESOURCES OF LAND RACES AND WILD RELATIVES OF ECONOMIC PLANTS AND THEIR IMPROVEMENT THROUGH SELECTION AND PRESERVATION AND THAT THE MATERIAL SO SELECTED AND PRESERVED HAS BEEN USED AS DONORS OF GENES IN VARIETIES REGISTRABLE UNDER PPV&FR ACT, 2001 (SECTION 39(1)(III) OF THE PROTECTION OF PLANT VARIETIES AND FARMERS' RIGHT ACT, 2001)

1.	Name of the Applicant	
	(ALL CAPITALS)	
2.	Postal address (for correspondence)	
	Block	
	Village	
	P.O. The state of	
	District	
	State	
	Pin	
	Tel. (if any)	
	E-mail	
	Fax	
	Mob.	
3.	Location(s) of the conservation site(s)	
4.	Plants and varieties in which conservation efforts had been made.	
5.	Whether the material so selected and preserved has been used as donors of	
	genes in varieties registrable under Protection of Plant Varieties & Farmers'	
	Rights Authority Act, 2001.	
	(Certificate from the concerned institution to be attached)	
6.	How many varieties (including farmers' varieties, land races, wild relatives and	
	other genetic resources) had been conserved?	
	(give details plant/crop wise)	
7.	How much area is being planted/ cultivated by the applicant with the conserved	
	varieties?	
	(give details)	
8.	Whether any innovative methods of conservation like cultural practices, storage	
	techniques etc developed/ adopted?	
	(give details)	
9.	Give information about the varieties that were developed with conserved variety.	
10.	What is the distinct trait identified in the conserved variety/varieties.	
11.	Name of the organization, if any that identified any useful trait in the conserved	
	varieties.	
12.	Whether the Farmer rewarded or recognized for the conservation efforts by any	
	other organization?	
	(give details)	
13.	Name the agencies (governmental or Non Government Organizations) conversant	i. Governmental:
	with the claims made	ii. Non Government
		Organizations)
14.	Whether the material finds it place in People's Biodiversity Register	,

#### Note:

Year \_\_\_\_\_

- 1. Please sign each page of the Application Form.
- 2. There is no application fee.
- 3. For details/information in any column, extra pages can be attached as Annexure.
- 4. Any clarification can be sought from the officials of PPV&FRA.
- 5. Declaration to be attached.

# PROTECTION OF PLANT VARIETIES & FARMERS' RIGHTS AUTHORITY MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE, GOVT. OF INDIA S-2, 'A' BLOCK, NASC COMPLEX, DPS MARG, OPP. TODAPUR NEW DELHI-110012

Tel: 011-25848127, 011-25842846, Fax: 011-25840478, E-mail: <a href="mailto:ppvfra-agri@nic.in">ppvfra-agri@nic.in</a>

### (DECLARATION)

Name and address / telephone no. / e-mail	I of the person with whom the Registrar, PPV&FRA can correspond with:
Name (Block Letters)	
Postal Address (for correspondence)	
Block	
Village	-
P.O	
District	
State	<u> </u>
Pin	
Tel. (if any)	

The information given in the application is true to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.

### **Signature of the Applicant**

It is hereby certified that the farmer named in this application has conserved and improved the material mentioned in this application form and the said material has been used as donor of genes in varieties registrable under PPV&FR Act, 2001.

(To be certified by Chairperson/Secretary of the Concerned Panchayat Biodiversity Management Committee or Concerned District Agricultural Officer or Director of Research of concerned SAU or concerned District Tribal Development Office)

### **Agro-biodiversity Hotspots of India**

S.No	Hotspot Region	Areas Covered
1.	Cold Desert	Western Himalyas covering Ladakh and Kargil. Upper reaches of Lahual-Spiti districts of Himachal Pradesh.
2.	Western Himalayan	Districts of Srinagar, Anantnag, Udhamput, Riasi, Kathna in Jammu & Kashmir, all the districts of Himachal Pradesh except the cold arid region and all the districts of Uttarakhand.
3.	Eastern Himalayan	All the districts of Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Darjeeling district of West Bengal.
4.	Brahmaputra Valley	Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon, Barpeta, Nalbari, Goalpara, Kamrup, Golaghat, Darrang, Morigaon, Nagaon, Sonitpur, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Sibsagar, Dibrugarh, Dhemaji and Tinsukia.
5.	Khasia-Jaintia- Garo Hills	All the seven districts of Meghalaya, i.e. East Garo Hills, West Garo Hills, South Garo Hills, East Khasi Hills, West Khasi Hills, Jaintia Hills and Ri-Bhoi.
6.	North-Eastern Hills	All the districts of Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and the adjoining Cachar and North Cachar districts of Asom.
7.	Arid Western	Sikar, Nagaur, Pali, Hanumangarh, Ganganagar, Jalore, Sirohi, Jodhpur, parts of Jaisalmer and Bikaner, Udaipur, Dungarpur, Churu, and Jhunjhunun districts of Rajastahan.
8.	Malwa Plateau and Central Highlands	Malwa plateau, Central highlands, the Mewar plateau and semi- arid south-eastern Rajasthan. Shadol, Raisen, Bhopal, Sehore, Shajapur, Indore, Ujjain, Mandasaur, Rajgarh Hoshangabad, Narsinghpur, Jabalpur, Mandla, Umaria districts.
9.	Kathiawar	Ahemadabad, Surendranagar, Jamnagar, Rajkot, Porbandar, Junagadh, Amreli, Bhavnagar, Bharuch, Surat, Navsari, Valsad, Banaskantha and Anand districts of Gujarat.
10.	Bundelkhand	Districts of Jhansi, Banda, Chitrakoot, Hamirpur, Jalaun and Lalitpur in Uttar Pradesh and Damoha, Datia, Panna, Sagar, Tikamagarh and Chattarpur in Madhya Pradesh.
11.	Upper Gangetic Plains	Districts of Hardoi, Sitapur, Barabanki, Lucknow, Unnao, Rae Bareilly, Kanpur, Kannuj of Central Uttar Pradesh and the districts of Maharajganj, Sidharatnagar, Kushinagar, Deoria, Sant Kabir Nagar, Gorakhpur, Bast of North-eastern Uttar Pradesh.
12.	Lower Gangetic Plains	Districts of Paschim Champaran, Purbi Champaran, Gopalganj, Siwan, Sitamarhi, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Buxar, Bhojpur, Patna, Rohatas, Jahanabad, Vaishali, Samastipur, Darbangha, Madhubani, Sheohar in North Bihar.
13.	Gangetic Delta	Broadly includes the deltaic 24-Parganas districts, and the districts of Hoogly, Howrah, Nadia, Bardhaman, Birbhum and Murshidabad.
14.	Chotanagpur	Districts of Singhbhum, Gumla, Ranchi, Lohardaga, Palamau and Hazaribagh and Santhal Pargana in Jharkhand and Mayurbianj district in Orissa.
15.	Bastar	Districts of Bastar, Bilaspur, Durg, Jashpur, Kabirdham, Kanker, Kirba, Koria, Mahasamund, Kondaigaon, and Rajnangoan of Chattisgarh.
16.	Koraput	Districts of Malkangiri, Sonabeda, Jeypore, Koraput, Nabrangpur, Kalahandi, Bolangir, Rayagada of Orissa and districts of north eastern Andhra Pradesh i.e.Srikakulam, Vijanagaram and Vizagapatnam.
17.	Southern Eastern Ghats	Districts of Chittoor, Ananthapur, Cuddapah and Kurnool in Andhra Pradesh and districts of Bellary, Raichur and Kolar in Karnataka.
18.	Kaveri	Districts of Chengalput, South Arcot, North Arcot, Thiruvannamalai, Tiruchirapalli, Pudukottai, Thiruarur, Vellore, Kanchipuram, Dharmapuri, Salem, Namakkal, Karur and Dindigal.
19.	Deccan	Districts of Jalna, Hingoli, Parbhani, Beed, Nanded, Latur, Osmanabad, Solapur, Sangli, Gondia, Gadchiroli in Maharash-sa, districts of Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warangal and Khamman in Andhra Pradesh and districts of Bidar and Gulbarga in Karnataka.
20.	Konkan	Coastal districts of Thane, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg and part of Sahyadri districts of Pune, Satara and Kolhapur of Maharashtra, all the districts of Goa and Uttar Kannda district of Karnataka.
21.	Malabar	Districts of Kasargod, Kannur, Wayanad, Kozikode, Malappuram, Palakkad, Thrissur, Idukki, Ernakulam, Alappuza, Kollam, Kottayam, Pathanamthitta & Thiruvananthpuram in Kerala, Udhagamandalam (Nilgiri) and Kanyakumari districts of Tamil Nadu and districts of Dakshin Kannada, Kodagu and Udipi in Karnataka.
22.	Islands	Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep